Faculty members in this department are devoted to teaching and research and hold national and international reputations in their areas of specialization, which include: high energy physics, nuclear physics, atomic physics, the physics of condensed matter, material science, mathematical physics, applied physics, and quantum field theory.

They organize and participate in conferences, publish extensively, and receive numerous outside grants, contracts, and fellowships. In addition, they engage in many collaborations with scientists in both foreign and American universities and national laboratories.


Faculty awards

The faculty of the Department of Physics and Astronomy is recognized nationally and internationally. Among our faculty are six NSF CAREER Award winners, one PECASE award winner, one DOE Outstanding Junior Investigator, one Alfred Sloan Fellow and seven American Physical Society Fellows.

View faculty awards