Scholarships and financial aid

The annual Wayne State University Scholarship Application period runs from Oct. 1 through March 1. Applicants will be considered for the scholarships listed below, as well as the scholarships available throughout the university, by using just one application.

Departmental scholarships

Christopher Birosak Annual Merit Scholarship in Economics

Established in 2015, this generous gift of Mr. Birosak recognizes scholastic achievement, encourages the study of economics and provides assistance to students in financing their education in the liberal arts and sciences. Christopher Birosak graduated with honors from Wayne State in 1976. Christopher Birosak believed his training in economics is what enabled him to pursue a very successful 35-year career in finance and investments at J.P. Morgan Chase and Merrill Lynch.

The award is presented at the end of each academic year to a student with a minimum 3.2 GPA. Students need not demonstrate financial need.

Li Way Lee Lion Award

The fund is used to recognize scholastic achievement within the academic field of economics, develop research skills, and provide assistance to students in financing their education in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. The award was established in 2007 through a gift from G. Michael Loewe who received his bachelor of arts degree in 1973 in history and economics.

Mendelson Award in Economics

The fund is used to provide summer research support to students working on their dissertations. It was established through a gift from Mr. Morris Mendelson in 1971.

Nancy S. Barrett Endowed Prize in Applied Macroeconomics

This award was established through a gift from Nancy S. Barrett, professor Emerita, who joined Wayne State as provost and senior vice president for academic affairs in 2003 and later joined the economics department in 2011. The prize is awarded annually to the student who submits an outstanding dissertation, thesis or other substantial student paper in applied macroeconomics.

Samuel M. Levin Endowed Merit Award and Levin Endowed Scholarship

The Professor Samuel M. Levin Economics Award Fund was created by donations to the university to honor the distinguished educational leadership and scholarly contributions of the late Professor Emeritus Samuel M. Levin. Among his many books is Malthus and the Conduct of Life (1967). He was also the author of many essays on education, labor, population, and technology. Professor Levin served the university and its predecessor institutions for 43 years. Initially, in charge of all social science teaching at the College of the City of Detroit (later, Wayne University), he was the first chairman of the Department of Economics, a position he occupied until 1953. His papers are collected in the Reuther Archives of the university.

The merit award and scholarship are presented at the annual Professor Samuel M. Levin Endowed Lecture held at the end of the academic year. The merit award is presented to a junior or senior for distinction in an outstanding paper chosen in a departmental competition. The need-based scholarship is also awarded at the event.