Samuel M. Levin Economics Lecture and Award

Each year, the Samuel M. Levin Endowed Award Fund gives out two awards and hosts a lecture. The first award is the Samuel M. Levin Economics Award and it is given to the author of an essay on economics. The second award is the Samuel M. Levin Economics Scholarship and it is given to a current graduate student in the Department of Economics.

View upcoming events

About Samuel M. Levin

The Professor Samuel M. Levin Endowed Award Fund was created by donations to the university to honor the distinguished educational leadership and scholarly contributions of the late Professor Emeritus Samuel M. Levin. Among his many books is Malthus and the Conduct of Life (1967). He was also the author of many essays on education, labor, population, and technology.

Professor Levin served the university and its predecessor institutions for 43 years. Initially in charge of all social science teaching at the College of the City of Detroit (later, Wayne University), he was the first chairman of the Department of Economics, a position he occupied until 1953. His papers are collected in the Reuther Archives of the university.


Year Speaker Title
2019 Phillip Cook, Duke University Policing Gun Violence: Why we can and should improve arrest rates in shooting cases
2018 Gary (Hoov) Hoover, Chair of the Department of Economics, Distinguished Presidential Professorship, University of Oklahoma Plagiarism in the Social Sciences
2017 Jens Ludwig, McCormick Foundation professor of social service administration, law and public policy, University of Chicago Human Decisions and Machine Predictions
2016 Henry S. Farber Factors Determining Callbacks to Job Application by the Unemployed: An Audit Study
2015 Dr. Robert H. Frank Success and Luck: A Personal Perspective
2014 Dr. Rodney Fort 15 Sports Myths and Why They are Wrong
2013 John Austin Foundations of Michigan's Economy
2012 Doron Levin, Forbes Magazine Journalism in the Digital Age
2011 Dr. Sean P. McAlinden, Executive Vice President of Research, Chief Economist, The Center for Automotive Research Not All the Way Back...Michigan's Auto Industry in Recovery
2010 Professor Charles Ballard, Michigan State University Michigan's Economic Transformation
2009 Richard Blouse, President of the Detroit Regional Chamber Translinked
2006 Jonathan Gruber  
2005 George Chow  
2004 Alan Krueger  
2003 Richard Cooper  
2001 Robert Shiller  
2000 Patric Hendershott  
1999 Anthony Snatomero  
1998 Mark Pauly  
1997 Jeffrey Sachs  
1995 Peter Pashigian  
1994 Vernon Smith  
1993 Sherwin Rosen  
1992 Ronald Wonnacott  
1991 Michelle White  
1989 Richard Arnott  

Endowed scholarship awardees

Year Awardee
2016 Mohammad Usama Toseef 
2015 Ashley Binion-Zuccaro 
2014 Anthony Shkrelja 
2013 Ahlam El Yaman 
2013 Steven Girodat 
2012 Daniel Pastor 
2011 Elham Mahmoudi 
2010 Joshua Hendrickson 
2009 Edmundo Reyes 
2008 Susanne Buesselmann 
2007 Christopher Brunt 
2006 Maia Platt 
2005 Alexander Barfield 
2004 Jing Zhou 
2003 Xiao Xu 
2002 Xiao Xu 
2001 Yingzi Su 
2000 David Kalist 
1999 Maria Bulycheva 
1998 Noelle Molinari 
1996 Ronald Scott Humphreys 
1995 Samuel Imarhiagbe 
1994 Mehmet Balcilar 
1993 William Barber 
1992 Zuohong Pan 
1992 James Warsinski 
1991 James Luke 
1991 Zhiyuan Zhou 
1990 Fan Zhang 
1989 John Sase 
1988 Anping Liu 
1987 Muhammad Mustafa 
1985 Petros Ioannatos 
1984 Rodolfo Ledesma 
1983 Nitin Paranjpe 
1981 Michael Leidy 
1980 Mafidul Islam 
1977 Daniel Taylor 
1976 Marc Gold 
1976 Ely Rosenzweig 
1974 Paul Scmhitt 
1973 Roger Trenary 
1971 Joseph Velky 
1970 Dennis Ellis 
1969 Gordon McMeekin 
1968 Yasuhisa Hosomatau 
1968 Werner Schelzig 
1966 Ralph Kolinski 
1965 Vithal Vartikar 
1964 Heidemarie Sherman 
1962 William Gillen