Graduation and Award Celebration 2018


SGAC attendeesLast week, the Department of Sociology hosted the 2018 Sociology Graduation and Award Celebration – an annual ceremony which promotes academic excellence and achievement.

The ceremony includes a congratulatory spotlight of graduating seniors, presentation of scholarships and awards, and induction of students into the Alpha Kappa Delta Honorary Society. Students, friends, families, alumni, and donors gathered for this event filled with fellowship and comradery.

Award recipients

Award Recipient
Professor Frank E. and Rosemary K. Hartung Memorial Endowed Award in Sociology Jenny Lendrum
Mary Cay Sengstock Diversity Scholarship Allison Jendry-James
Shirley Falconer Slayman Memorial Award Jennifer Anton
Award for Excellence Given in Memory of Dr. Kaleema Sumareh Anabel Stoeckle
Outstanding Master's Thesis Award Whitney Hunt
Aaron Irving Geselis Memorial Endowed Scholarship Leah Lynch
Lucille Makarov Memorial Scholarship Diana Morales
Sociology Alumni Award Jason Smith
Undergraduate Award for Academic Excellence Mohammed Turfe and Juan Gonzalez-Martinez

View the 2018 SGAC program (PDF)

View SGAC 2017 photos by Angelique Mieu.

Back to listing