CLAS faculty receive Graduate School awards


A number of College of Liberal Arts and Sciences faculty were recognized for outstanding work in their departments with faculty awards from the Wayne State Graduate School.

Christine Chow, Professor of Chemistry, received the Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award. This award honors an outstanding faculty member for scholarly achievement in research and teaching and contributions to graduate education.

Valerie Simon, Associate Professor of Psychology, received the Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award. This award celebrates faculty members who are recognized by their departments and graduate students as superb graduate mentors.

Stephen Chrisomalis, Associate Professor of Anthropology, Sharon Lean, Associate Professor of Political Science and Caroline Maun, Associate Professor of English, received Outstanding Graduate Director Service Awards. These awards recognize graduate directors who go above and beyond in service to advance graduate education in their programs. 

This year's Competitive GRA Awards were given in the category of Arts and Humanities. John Corvino, Department Chair, Professor of  Philosophy and Elizabeth Faue, Department Chair, Professor of History, will receive 12-month GRA positions for winter and spring/summer terms of 2016-2017 to support their research and create opportunity for select students in their programs.

By Ian Aufdemberge, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences communications associate


Back to listing

150 years in the heart of Detroit