Academy of Scholars inducts new members at annual banquet


This year, four professors were inducted into the Academy of Scholars for their widely recognized academic achievements, all of whom belong to the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. 

The Academy of Scholars is a community of esteemed faculty members dedicated to raising the academic prestige of the university and includes professors from across all disciplines.

Miriam L. Greenberg is a professor in the department of biological sciences. Her research aims to understand the functions of the mitochondrial lipid cardiolipin, and the cellular consequences of inositol depleting drugs.

Naftali Raz has been on Wayne State faculty since 2001 and is currently a professor of psychology and an associate director for life-span cognitive neuroscience at the Institute of Gerontology. Dr. Raz's research has been continuously supported since 1993 by the National Institute on Aging, including a prestigious MERIT award for 2010-2016.

Brad R. Roth is a professor jointly appointed in the Department of Political Science and the Law School. He is the author of Governmental Illegitimacy in International Law (Oxford University Press, 1999), and a wide range of book chapters, journal articles and commentaries dealing with questions of sovereignty, constitutionalism, human rights and democracy.

Alexey A. Petrov is a professor in the department of physics and astronomy. His most important scientific achievements include a solution of a decade-long problem of lifetimes of heavy baryons in heavy quark expansion and correct prediction of the rate of meson-antimeson oscillations of neutral charmed mesons.

Junior faculty award recipients include Leela Arava, Asfar Azmi, Julie Lesnik and Jared Schrader.

Back to listing