English Students Recognized for Academic Excellence


On Friday, April 22nd, the Department of English held its annual Scholarship & Writing Awards Ceremony where we recognized our undergraduate and graduate students for academic excellence. Here is a complete list of awards and recipients:

Creative Writing Awards

Judith Siegel Pearson Award
First Place: Alexandra Biedenbach, "Missed Calls"
Second Place: Bridget Gibbons, "A Celebratory Occasion"

Phillip Lawson Hatch, Jr. Memorial Award
First Place: Tiara Amani, "Hide, And I'll Find You"
Second Place: Megha Krishnan, "The Supplicant"
Honorable Mentions: Joe Martinez, "Tennessee"
Stephanie Jean, "Five Poems"

John Clare Award in Poetry
First Place: Nicole Friedlaender, "Tetralogy"
Second Place: Megha Krishnan, "A Culmination, in Parts"
Honorable Mention: Ariel Mokdad, "Winter's Harvest" and Other Poems

Tompkins Awards: NonFiction
First Place: Dan Fenster, "Pest Control"
Second Place: Stefanie Norlin, "The Night Side of Life"
Honorable Mentions: Cameron Martin, "Notes on Grandma Bayfield"
Maya Younis, "Taking Flight"

Tompkins Awards: Fiction
First Place: Brody Cunningham, "Moonshine"
Second Place: Hannah Loesch, "Imperial Whim"
Honorable Mentions: Daniel Jones, "How We Touch Sickness"
Lesley Stanley, "Stripper Picnic"

Tompkins Award: Drama
First Place: Gregory Loselle, "Ghetto Romances"
Second Place: Mary Grahame Hunter, "Question Mark"
Honorable Mention: Heather Carr, "Kavya's Wedding"

Tompkins Award: Poetry
First Place: Megha Krishnan, "A Culmination, in Parts"
Second Place: Ariel Mokdad, "To Fall in Love You Must Let the Fireflies Go"
Honorable Mentions: Tiara Amani, "Hide, And I'll Find You"
Nicole Friedlaender, "Tetralogy"

Undergraduate Awards

The Undergraduate Best Essay Award
Jan Blaschak, "Monsters, Men, Heroes, and Saints: The Organization of the Nowell Codex"

Distinguished Graduating Senior Award
Suzette Bristol

Service Achievement Award
Amal Rass

Graduate & Undergraduate Scholarships

The Christopher T. Leland Endowed Scholarship in Creative Writing
Megha Krishnan

The Loughead-Eldredge Endowed Scholarship in Creative Writing
Undergraduates: Sara Jayyousi, Stephanie Jean, Joe Martinez
Graduate Students: Toni Bunton, Dan Jones, Lesley Stanley

The Stephen H. Tudor Memorial Scholarship in Creative Writing
Ariel Mokdad

The Joseph J. & Mary E. Yelda Endowed Merit Scholarship for English
Joseph Clawson
Lujine Nasralla
Manal Nizam
Ki Lee O'Brien
Aaron Proudfoot
Nushrat Rahman
Jonpaul Taylor

The Gilbert R. & Patricia K. Davis Endowed Merit Scholarship
Jan Blaschak
Sean Rust

The Dustin Rose Memorial Scholarship
Dania Khan

The Marion K. Ringe Endowed Scholarship
Quintina Baldon

The Thomas R. Jasina Endowed Graduate Scholarship in English
Catherine Donaldson

The Terrance King Endowed Memorial Fellowship in English
Tara Forbes
Peter Marra

The Albert Feigenson Scholarship
Undergraduate: Blake Hart-Negrich
Graduate Student: Inhye Kang

The Professor Arnold Goldsmith Annual Scholarship
Undergraduate: Connor Newton
Graduate Students: Shawn Cooper and Sean Levenson

The Dennis Turner Memorial Scholarship in Film Studies
Kevin Ball
Shelby Cadwell

The Doretta Burke Sheill Endowed Memorial Scholarship
Undergraduates: Rachel Hackett, Robert Hunter, Kayla Johnson, and Anna Petranovic
Graduate Students: Shelby Cadwell, Corey Hamilton, David Nowak, Lesley Stanley, and Melanie Zynel

The Pearl A. Warn Endowed Scholarship in English
Undergraduate: Mark Sharrow
Graduate Student: Nadia Mohammad

For photos of our wonderul students, please visit our Facebook album: Scholarship & Wriitng Awards Ceremony 2016


Back to listing