

FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING SEPTEMBER 7, 2023

Members present: Andrew Newman, Zachary Brewster, Christopher Trentacosta, Eric Kessell, Pramod Khosla, Alina Cherry, Fernando Charro, John Klein, Ty Partridge, Jaime Goodrich, Victor Figueroa, Sarah Swider, Chuanzhu Fan.

Attending: Stephanie Hartwell, Lori Pile, Paul Clemens, Claudio Verani, Caroline Brzuchowski, Jennifer Wareham.

Absent with notice: Edward Golenberg, Robert Harr, Hien Nguyen, Shelly Jo Kraft, Michael Belzer.

The meeting was called to order at 9:00.

The minutes of the May 11, 2023 meeting were approved.

Pramod Khosla was elected as the new Faculty Council Secretary.

Andrew Newman, Zach Brewster, and Chuanzhu Fan agreed to serve on the college Curriculum Committee. Eric Kessell and Alina Cherry agreed to continue to serve.

Dean Hartwell noted that enrollment had stabilized somewhat in Fall 2023 and that the college was likely looking at a flat budget for the coming year.

Zach Brewster asked what was happening with HR. Jenn Wareham spoke of some of the recent problems around getting graduate students paid on time.

The dean said that eleven faculty members took last year's retirement incentive.

While there was considerable faculty hiring done last year, the dean said that the college has had just four positions approved for the current year, one of which is a Mellon hire. She noted that there is sometimes ambiguity around which hires are a part of that grant.

Dean Hartwell noted the reorganization of the CLAS Grants Administrative structure.

The dean encouraged attendance at the Humanities Commons grand opening on September 21.

The meeting adjourned at 9:40.