Six students complete Ph.D. degrees

The Winter 2023 semester hatched six new chemistry Ph.D. graduates.

Lawrence G. Mendoza defended his dissertation: “N-Acyl Urea Activation of Carboxylic Acids as an Enabling Strategy for Peptide Synthesis." Dr. Mendoza completed his work under advisor Jennifer Stockdill, and committee members; Mary Kay Pflum, Federico Rabuffetti, Mike Kopach (Eli Lily) on Friday, February 3, 2023.

Disni Gunasekara, defended her dissertation: “Alternating Current Electrolysis for Amine Functionalization and Hydrogen Isotope Exchange.” She completed her work under the direction of Long Luo (advisor), and committee members; Sarah Trimpin, Federico Rabuffetti, and Jingwei Li on March 29, 2023.

Nyi Myat Khine Linn defended his dissertation: “Thermal Atomic Layer Deposition of Cobalt Metal and Precursors for Titanium Metal Thin Films.” He completed his work under the direction of Charles Winter (advisor), and committee members; Matt Allen, Ed Chekmenev and Thomas Knisley (Applied Materials) on Monday, April 17, 2023.

Nilanka Weerathunga Sirikkathuge defended his thesis entitled: "Synthesis and Characterization of Main Group and Lanthanide Thin Film Growth Precursors: Deposition of Magnesium and Zinc Metal Thin Films." Nilanka’s research was carried out under advisor Charles H. Winter and committee members; Stanislav Groysman, Wen Li, and Thomas Knisley (Applied Materials) on Monday, April 24th, 

Mohammad Shah Hafez Kabir defended his dissertation: "Hyperpolarized Nitrogen-15 MRI Contrast Agents for Hypoxia Sensing Via Reversible Exchange with Parahydrogen." His research was completed under Ed Chekmenev (advisor) and committee members; Aaron Rury, Stanislav Groysman, and Boyd Goodson (Outside Member) on Tuesday, April 25, 2023.

Dissanayake G. Asanka I. Dissanayake defended his dissertation: “Testing Different Approaches for the Stabilization of MDI: Design of Low-Valent Molybdenum Complexes in RedoxActive Environments and Capture-Release Reactions Using N-Heterocyclic Carbenes.” Asanka completed his work under the direction of Stanislav Groysman (advisor), and committee members; Andrea Matti, James Bour, and Karl Gust (BASF) on Friday, April 28, 2023.

Congratulations to all of the new chemistry Ph.D.graduates!

Back to listing